With that said, Baltimore Orioles outfielder Joey Rickard found a way to get around that issue. Rickard didn’t try to avoid Donaldson by hitting the ball the other, he just decided to hit the ball so hard that it went through Donaldson’s glove.
At first glance, it looks as though Donaldson possibly misplayed the ball. But replays show that wasn’t the case.
Rickard hit the ball so hard, and at just the right angle, that is managed to shoot through the webbing in Donaldson’s glove. As Donaldson chases the ball, you can see him look down at his glove wondering “what the heck just happened.”
After being betrayed by his usually trusty glove, Donaldson ran back into the clubhouse to grab a new glove following the play.
The play was ruled an infield hit, by the way, because how are you going to give Donaldson an error due to a glove malfunction? The official scorer must have been familiar with Donaldson’s previous work on defense, because anyone knows unless some insane, one-in-a-million situation occurs, he’s making that play.
More MLB coverage from Yahoo Sports:
– – – – – – –