A Jarome Iginla goal was disallowed Wednesday night in a game between the Colorado Avalanche and Montreal Canadiens for goaltender interference. But did Iginla actually interfere with Canadiens netminder Ben Scrivens?
At the 13:51 mark of the second period Iginla corralled a rebound off a shot by Erik Johnson and pushed it past a sprawled Scrivens. The goal was called off immediately by official Steve Kozari who gave Iginla a goaltender interference penalty.
Iginla argued the call, but to no avail. Iginla eventually got his revenge, scoring his 605th goal of his NHL career at the 16:46 mark of the second.
According to Sportsnet’s Elliotte Friedman, the Avalanche could have challenged the call. If the referee determined there was no contact, the penalty could have been wiped off and the goal allowed.
Colorado came into the game with 62 points – four clear of the Arizona Coyotes and Minnesota Wild for the final Wild Card spot in the Western Conference.
The Canadiens came into Wednesday night with 58 points, six behind the Pittsburgh Penguins for the last Wild Card spot in the Eastern Conference. The Penguins have two games in hand on Montreal.
MORE FROM YAHOO HOCKEY
– – – – – – –